Canberra Wind Symphony ‘BRONZE’ concert

CWS Bronze promo The Q 2018 website



 Thursday 31st May 2018 at 7.30 pm

Join the stunning Canberra Wind Symphony for an evening of musical brilliance, with contemporary works from extraordinary Australian and international composers, all with fascinating stories to tell.

For its Q debut, Artistic Director and Chief Conductor, Geoff Grey, has chosen Samuel Hazo’s high-energy ’Ride’ (2004) for CWS to burst onto The Q stage. Chasing that will be a Canberra Premiere, a hallmark of this wind orchestra’s programming, with Australian Martyn Hancock’s latest work ‘Aurora Australis’ (2018).

The exceptional American composer David Maslanka then takes us on a jubilant journey with his 2010 ‘Liberation’ before the orchestra skips back a century or so to explore Nicolai Rimsky-Korsakov’s iconic ‘Flight of the Bumblebee’, showcasing the special talents of concertmaster Sarah Nielsen before she heads to Canada to workshop with the world’s finest flautists.

Grey will then calm the mood somewhat with the beauty of Eric Whitacre’s stunning 2005 ‘Lux Aurumque’ before concluding this triumphant event with a second Whitacre offering, his 1993 breakthrough masterpiece ‘Ghost Train’, a demonstration of the full power and texture the wind orchestra experience brings to lovers of the beauty and excitement of live music.

Come and celebrate this amazing ensemble with 35 of the Capital Region’s finest professional players as they combine to bring only the best wind literature to the stage. Quite simply – they’re captivating, engaging and brilliant!

Be quick to secure your tickets for this one-off event


‘Fresh, entertaining and accessible … It is always a pleasure to uncover or rediscover such incredible, locally based talent’. City News

Visit the Canberra Wind Symphony website

31 May 2018
 Thursday 31 May 2018 – 7.30pm
Adults: $45.00
Concessions: $38.00
Groups 4+: $38.00
Student: $25.00
Children U12: $10.00

Back to the Top