The Queanbeyan City Council Regional Art Awards


The Queanbeyan City Council Regional Art Awards

4 – 15 August 2015

Announcement of Awards – Tuesday 4 August 6pm

Annually, Queanbeyan City Council extends an invitation to artists and craftspeople residing in the Queanbeyan, Palerang, Cooma Monaro and Yass Valley Local Government Areas to enter the awards. The competition invites a guest judge from the regional art community to do the honors each year. Past judges have included Robert Foster from F!NK and Co., Susie and Martin Beaver from Beaver Galleries and Anita McIntyre, ceramic artist and President of the Strathnairn Association.

Entry forms available in June 2015.

The non-acquisitive awards aim to enhance recognition of, and offer a unique award to Queanbeyan and region artist and craftspeople; particularly encouraging emerging artist to enter. The awards highlight, expose and promote the myriad of talented visual artist residing in the Queanbeyan region.

The 2014 winner was Sonja Kalenjuk for her up-cycled sculpture “Re-Chair” (above).

For further information contact the Cultural Development Officer, Georgina Perri on 6285 6170, or

See more on the awards, including a list of past winners on the Queanbeyan City Council website here.

RE-Chair by Sonja Kalenjuk

RE-Chair by Sonja Kalenjuk – Winner 2014 QCC Regional Art Awards

Back to the Top